Let’s Use an iPad (Mini) as a Moleskine Notebook – Part 1: Evernote Smart Notebook by Moleskine

Moleskine+iPad?

For some people, Moleskine notebooks are just expensive notebooks: for the same amount of money that you would spend for Moleskine, I’m sure that you could buy more than a dozen of regular notebooks. For those who use its notebooks regularly, Moleskine notebooks are must-haves for their tactility, durability, and a push for creativity. I still enjoy using Moleskine’s large plan notebooks. As a regular user of both Moleskine notebooks and an Apple iPad, I’ve started feeling that carrying both doesn’t make sense. The ultimate solution is to carry just one – one with functionality of combining the strength of Moleskine notebooks and that of an iPad. I am going to write a few ways to achieve this goal in a few part series.

In Part 1, I focus on the appearance of iPad and Moleskine.

1. Evernote and Moleskine suggest…

I posted this video titled “”Paper Notebooks vs Smartphones?” in a previous post, but it suggests a way to think about combing both Moleskine notebooks and iPads in some way:

Here are the points raised in this video about (dis)advantages of notebooks and smartphones:

  1. A notebook does not disturb.
  2. Sharing is more elaborate on paper.
  3. Notetaking can be easier with a notebook.
  4. Some functions are not available on paper.
  5. In case of loss, you call your smartphone. And for notebooks, you use the reward notice.
  6. Privacy and protection are somewhat possible with both.
  7. A smartphone can also be a torch.
  8. A notebook doesn’t need a battery. Nor cables.
  9. Paper won’t break.

At the end, this video is suggesting the use of Evernote Smart Notebook by Moleskine. I barely use Evernote so I may not be the best person to evaluate this combination of Evernote and Moleskine, but capturing pages from notebooks and adding the images to Evernote seems redundant. Although Evernote’s searchability of notes and images is appealing and useful, I prefer to make the same content directly in my iPad without capturing or scanning notebook pages.

The combination of Evernote and Moleskine is definitely a great solution for those who want to keep taking advantages of both Moleskine notebooks and smartphones or tablets. Since I want to carry just one tool, this doesn’t work for me.

What should I do now?

–––––
Let’s Use an iPad (Mini) as a Moleskine Notebook Series

  1. Evernote and Moleskine suggest: Evernote Smart Notebook by Moleskine
  2. Dress an iPad like Moleskine: DODOcase and Moleskine Covers for iPad
  3. Think like Prezi: Prezi App
  4. Create idea collages: Adobe Collage App
6 thoughts on “Let’s Use an iPad (Mini) as a Moleskine Notebook – Part 1: Evernote Smart Notebook by Moleskine

  1. I use Evernote at an alarming pace. I also use Moleskine notebooks. I agree that scanning images of each Moleskine page would be redundant. But I think capturing really important notes from Moleskin into Evernote makes a lot of sense. If you did that periodically you don’t have to carry two devices and you minimize the risk of losing the notebook.

    • Hi Paul, thanks for the comment! I tried using Evernote several times before, but I ended up abandoning it at the end every time. For most of the time, Safari’s Reading List is enough for me. Do you have a good method of choosing and capturing you notes to Evernote? Let me know!

      • For me the key to Evernote is that it’s on each of my devices including MacBook, iPad, iPhone, and Thinkpad. I type probably 90% of my notes directly into the Evernote app on one of those devices. When I do have a hardcopy note I want to include in Evernote I utilize an app called Turbo Scan that turns an image taken with your iPhone into a pdf. I then just email that to the Evernote email upload address specific to my account and it’s in there.

  2. Pingback: Let’s Use an iPad (Mini) as a Moleskine Notebook – Part 2: DODOcase and Moleskine Covers for iPad | Unruled Eyes | Masaki Kondo's Blog

  3. Pingback: Let’s Use an iPad (Mini) as a Moleskine Notebook – Part 3: Prezi App | Unruled Eyes | Masaki Kondo's Blog

  4. Pingback: Let’s Use an iPad (Mini) as a Moleskine Notebook – Part 4: Adobe Collage App | Unruled Eyes | Masaki Kondo's Blog

Leave Me a Comment :)

